Lines of Inspiration

Janell Mithani

While at Descanso Gardens a few weeks ago, I walked under this willow tree and was surrounded by lines and contrast.  photograph of weeping willow tree by Janell MithaniAs I slowly turned in a circle while looking up, It made me think about how lines create form and interest, inspiring me to explore lines in different ways when I paint.  When I sketch, I am very conscious of line, but when I move to the medium of paint, I find that I think in terms of color and shape.

My first thoughts are towards my liner brush, (one of my most favorite tools,) but I want to look at new ways to emphasize line.  I am going to see how I can use some of my other brushes in a different manner to create “lines” in my next painting.

It’s amazing how nature inspires us in so many different ways!

Have a wonderful, creative day, Janell

View original post

Leave a Reply

